Six new species of Myrsidea Waterston, 1915 (Phthiraptera: Menoponidae) from New World jays of the genus Cyanocorax Boie (Passeriformes: Corvidae), with notes on the chorionic structure of eggs

Publication Type:Journal Article
Year of Publication:2015
Authors:M. Paiva Valim, Cicchino A. Conrado
Journal:Systematic Parasitology
Pagination:191 - 211
Date Published:Jan-02-2015
Keywords:chorionic structure of eggs, Myrsidea cristatelli, Myrsidea daleclaytoni, Myrsidea lindolphoi, Myrsidea melanocyanei, Myrsidea moriona, new species, New World jays

The only species of previously named Myrsidea Waterston, 1915 from Neotropical jays of the genus Cyanocorax Boie (Passeriformes: Corvi- dae), Myrsidea fallax Ke ́ler, 1938 (type-host Cyano- corax cyanomelas Vieillot), is redescribed and six new species of lice in the genus Myrsidea are described: Myrsidea pseudofallax n. sp. [type-host C. c. chrysops (Vieillot)]; M. moriona n. sp. [type-host C. m. morio (Wagler)]; Myrsidea daleclaytoni n. sp. [type-host C. v. violaceus Du Bus de Gisignies]; Myrsidea lindolphoi n. sp. [type-host C. caeruleus (Vieillot)]; Myrsidea melanocyanei n. sp. [type-host C. melanoc- yaneus chavezi (Miller & Griscom)]; and Myrsidea cristatelli n. sp. [type-host C. cristatellus (Tem- minck)]. A key to the identification of both sexes of these seven species is provided. Immature stages of M. daleclaytoni n. sp. (all instars) and M. cristatelli n. sp. (nymph III) are described. External chorionic architecture of the eggs is described and illustrated for six Myrsidea spp. from corvine birds: M. picae (Linnaeus, 1758) ex Pica p. pica L.; M. cornicis (DeGeer, 1778) ex Corvus c. corone L.; M. isostoma (Nitzsch in Giebel, 1866) ex Co. f. frugilegus L.; M. interrupta (Osborn, 1896) ex Co. brachyrhynchus Brehm; M. fallax ex Cy. cyanomelas; and M. moriona n. sp. ex Cy. m. morio. This is the first review of the data on Myrsidea spp. infesting Neotropical Corvidae.

Short Title:Syst Parasitol
File attachments: 
Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith